Working with existing accounts

Working with existing accounts

Enabling and Disabling clients from Active Directory synchronization

Each client has a flag that can be set that will enable or disable their participation in an Active Directory synchronization.  This flag can be set by one of the following methods:

Method 1 - For an individual client

  1. Open the client detail screen for the client.  This can be done via the HelpMaster Desktop edition, or via the HelpMaster Active Directory Management application.
  2. On the Settings tab, Active Directory frame, check or clear the “Is Active Directory enabled” checkbox.

Method 2 - For an individual client or a group of clients

  1. Open the client search screen and search for the clients you wish to update
  2. Select each client you wish to update
  3. Right-click on a selected client to display a popup menu
  4. Select the appropriate Active Directory enable / disable state for the selected clients

Associating and Disassociating clients from Active Directory synchronization

Each client that has been matched to a corresponding Active Directory user will continue to be updated as long the HelpMaster Active Directory service is running and that client has the “Is Active Directory enabled” checkbox checked.  On occasion, it may be necessary to disassociate a HelpMaster client from and Active Directory user.  This can be done by one of the following methods:

Method 1 - For an individual client

  1. Open the client detail screen for the client.
  2. On the Settings tab, Active Directory frame, click the “Unassociate from Active Directory user” button

Method 2 - For an individual client or a group of clients

  1. Open the client search screen and search for the clients you wish to update
  2. Select each client you wish to update
  3. Right-click on a selected client to display a popup menu
  4. Select the “Unassociate from Active Directory user” menu for the selected clients

Method 3 - For all clients

  1. Open the Active Directory profile screen
  2. Click on the Global tab
  3. Click on the button entitled “Unassociate all HelpMaster clients”

Please note that when you disassociate a HelpMaster client from an Active Directory user, their “Is Active Directory enabled” checkbox will automatically be unchecked.  This is to prevent the HelpMaster user from automatically being re-associated with the same, or similar Active Directory user the next time an enabled Active Directory Profile is run.  If you wish to have this client re-associated with an Active Directory user you will need to re-enable them for Active Directory synchronization.  See the section above on how to do this.

See Also

Working with the Active Directory module

Profile schedule and Filter date